Friday, July 2, 2010

Unemployment Benefits

So I was watching the local news today and saw a story about a dad in Woodstock who has 2 kids, was laid off a while back and has steadily been trying to find work. He has been collecting unemployment during this time frame, and his benefits are about to run out. He was hoping, like many others, that congress would pass something to extend these benefits. As of yet, they have yet to do so, so he is basically shit out of luck. The reporter was able to get in touch with Senator Isaackson, a republican Senator from GA, and found out that he voted against the bill to extend these benefits. When asked why he did it, this was his answer "If we passed that bill, we would have to incur more debt in our national debt, and I don't believe any father would want to mortgage his kids future." This reporter then told the dad in Woodstock what the Senator said and his answer made perfect sense "I understand his point by not wanting to put hardship on our kids in the future, but by not extending these benefits, we are trading that hardship for the future to right now." He is absolutely right. Yes, no one likes the idea of having to go further in debt for the future, but at the same time, I think it is more important that we help these families out now so these kids do not have to go through the hardship now, while they are kids. There are so many reasons why the Senator is wrong, but I am sure he does not care. His plan to extend unemployment benefits was to fund it with the stimulus money. Now, if we were to do that, then what would that mean? Simple as this, if we take money from the stimulus package to fund unemployment, we are simply putting more people on the unemployment line. The stimulus money is for creating / keeping jobs. So if we take funding away from that, we accomplish nothing. What is messed up is that we, the people, keep re-electing these jackasses to represent us. Mainly because most of GA is republican and will always vote that way, no matter what they do in Washington or what they say they will do. Our other Senator, "Zaxby" Chambliss, has sponsored 1 bill sense he has been in Washington, since 2003. National Watermelon Day. His voting record is 100% with the majority of republicans and has NEVER voted for a bipartisan bill. So, Chambliss has accomplished nothing since his time in the senate, and he just got re-elected in 2008. Funny how congress has a 14% approval rating in GA during the 2008 election, but our wonderfully intelligent people in this state re-elect someone who has been there and done nothing. If we want things to change in this country, we, as citizens, need to stand up and let our voice be heard. Instead of letting the media, especially Fox News, who pawn themselves off as a "fair and balanced news agency" brainwash you, go out and do the research for yourselves. You will all be surprised of what you find out.